Thursday , July 2 2020

Indian Police Service

IPS after Engineering

The Indian Police Service or IPS is one of the 3 All India Services of the Government of India. The IPS was formed in the year 1948. The cadre controlling authority for the IPS is the Ministry of Home Affairs.

IPS Exam

The Indian Police Service examination is a part of the Civil Services Examination which is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission each year.

IPS Officer

  • An IPS (Indian Police Service) officer carries out his/her responsibilities by safeguarding the public.
  • IPS Officer serves the state & central as well. Their primary duty is to maintain peace among the public .
  • The IPS gives more importance to law and order, which, at the district level, is a collective responsibility of IPS and IAS officers; detecting and preventing crime; and traffic control, preventing drug, accident prevention, and management etc. Their main role is to lead and commanding the Indian Intelligence Agencies like Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW), Intelligence Bureau (IB), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Criminal Investigation Department (CID) etc., Indian Federal Law Enforcement Agencies, Civil and Armed Police Forces in all the states and union territories
  • In order to fulfill these functions efficiently, responsibly and systematically, the IPS service is divided into various functional departments such as Crime Branch, Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Home Guards, Traffic Bureau.

Eligibility Criteria

The physical criteria for eligibility of the IPS officer is as follows:

  • Minimum Height – Men – 165cm
  • Women – 150cm
  • Relaxable minimum height is 160cm (men) and 145cm (women) for candidates belonging to ST and races such as Gorkhas, Garhwalias, Assamese, Kumaonis, Nagaland Tribals, etc.
  • Minimum Chest Girth – Men/Women: 84cm 79cm Myopia (including cylinder) should not exceed minus 4.00D
  • Hypermyopia (including cylinder) should not exceed plus 4.00D
  • The presence of Squint is a disqualification
  • Spectacles are permitted
  • Distant vision for better eye(Corrected Vision) should be 6/6 or 6/9
  • Distant vision for the worse eye(Uncorrected Vision) should be 6/12 or 6/9
  • Near vision should be J1 and J2 respectively
  • High-grade color vision is required and Binocular vision is needed
  • Nationality: Nationality of a candidate must be either of the following:
    • Citizen of India
    • Subject of Nepal
    • Subject of Bhutan
    • A Tibetan refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, for permanent settlement in India.
    • Migrant from any of the following countries for permanently settling in India: Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam
  • Educational Qualification: A candidate must hold a Bachelor’s degree from any of the universities recognized by the UGC or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • Age Limit: Candidate should fulfill the age limits mentioned below: Minimum age 21 years Maximum age 32 years as on 1st of August in the year of examination.
  • Relaxable age limit is as follows:
    • Up to max. 5 years for SC/ST candidates.
    • Up to max. 3 years for OBC candidates.
    • Up to max. 5 years for a candidate from the State of Jammu & Kashmir
    • Up to max. 5 years for Defence Services personnel Up to max. 5 years for Ex-servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service and have been released.
    • Up to max. 5 years for ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years of Military Service.
    • Up to max. 10 years for Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons
  • Number of attempts: Restriction on the maximum number of attempts is effective since 1984:
    • For General Candidates: 7 attempts (Up to 32 Years)
    • Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST): No Limits (Up to 37 Years)
    • Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts (Up to 35 Years)
    • Physically handicapped- 9 attempts for general and OBC, while unlimited for SC/ST

Selection Procedure:

The UPSC Selection process happens in 3 stages:  Civil Services (Preliminary) Examinations (Objective Type) and Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written) and Interview (Personality Test)

Roles and Responsibilities

To fulfill duties based on border responsibilities, in the areas of maintenance of public peace and order, crime prevention, investigation, and finding, collecting of intelligence reports, taking care of VIP security, counter-terrorism, border patrolling, railway policing, working towards preventing smuggling, drug trafficking, economic offences, corruption, playing a key role in disaster management, enforcement of socio-economic legislation, bio-diversity and defending of environmental laws etc. Exchanging information with the Indian Intelligence Agencies like R&AW, IB, CID, CBI Leading the Central Armed Police Force (CRPF) and being in touch with them on a regular basis Interact and coordinate with the Indian Revenue Services (IRS), Indian Armed forces, primarily with the Indian Army Serve the people of the country with full integrity, honesty and wholehearted dedication



User Rating: Be the first one !

About AfterEngineering

Leave a Reply